The Best Art Museum in Denver to Explore the Old West and the New West.

The museum will be closed on Monday, May 27, 2024, for Memorial Day.

The American Museum of Western Art (AMWA) is more than your typical art museum. It is a chance to venture into the beauty of awe-inspiring landscapes. It is an opportunity to ponder art’s role in shaping perceptions of the West. It is a place to be inspired by the tapestry of people and cultures that thrive here in the West. With over 300 paintings by more than 180 artists, the museum is home to one of the greatest surveys of Western American art in the country – The Anschutz Collection.

Located in the heart of downtown Denver, AMWA is open Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 10:00 AM to 4:30 PM. During these hours, patrons ages eight and older are invited to explore the museum through Self-Guided Tours. The museum also offers Guided Tours and art enrichment programs. At AMWA, there is a story in every brushstroke, history in every frame, and hidden gems around every corner.

Upcoming AMWA Programs

Artful Insights: Charles Schreyvogel

Monday, June 3, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:00p.m.

Queer Frontier: Pride Month Art Discussion – Captain Stewart

Friday, June 7, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:00p.m.

Queer Frontier: Pride Month Art Discussion – Conflicting Ideas of Gender and Sexuality in the Old West

Friday, June 14, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:00p.m.

Museum Meditation 06/20/2024

Thursday, June 20, 2024
1:00p.m.-1:45p.m.

Queer Frontier: Pride Month Art Discussion – Cowboy Poetry of Queer Love

Friday, June 21, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:00p.m.

Puzzlin’ Art SPARK! Program 6/27/24

Thursday, June 27, 2024
10:30a.m.-12:00p.m.

Queer Frontier: Pride Month Art Discussion – Marsden Hartley

Friday, June 28, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:00p.m.

Artful Insights: Gustave Baumann

Monday, July 1, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:00p.m.

Middle School Makers 07/05/2024

Friday, July 5, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:30p.m.

Westbound – The Trackers by Charles Frazier

Tuesday, July 9, 2024
10:30a.m.-12:00p.m.

Middle School Makers 07/12/2024

Friday, July 12, 2024
3:00p.m.-4:30p.m.

Museum Meditation 07/18/2024

Thursday, July 18, 2024
1:00p.m.-1:45p.m.

Open Monday, Wednesday, and Friday.

10:00am - 4:30pm.

Admission $5.



Discover the artwork in the Anschutz Collection.

The Museum offers FREE school tours and educational resources.

View paintings in the Museum’s Collection alongside historical events.

Tours for large groups can be arranged on a Tuesday or Thursday.

The Museum hosts programs throughout the year designed to educate and entertain our guests.